December 30, 1908

My dearest John,

I received one of the dearest sweetest letters from my Sweetheart this morning. Your letters always help me so much and make me very happy. I am a very fortunate girl to have the dearest boy in the world love me. I love him so very much. I am so glad my Sweetheart likes the handkerchief. You need not save them so much Dearie because when they are worn out I shall make you some other ones (embroider them if you like). I am going to try to always have my Sweetheart’s initials embroidered on his handkerchiefs.

It gives me much pleasure to do anything for my Sweetheart. I was so happy working them, I thought of you all the time. I am not glad at all that I am so far away and not very much afraid of any “awful thing” my Sweetheart might do.

I am so sorry that you had to eat your Christmas dinner at a restaurant. But Sweetheart you will not always do it, if it be God’s will and I can help it. Oh, won’t we enjoy our first Christmas together! It will be such a happy time. And all the coming Christmases, too. I cannot help but think and think about it.

I received a lovely letter from Bonnie this morning. They were disappointed that you did not get home for Christmas.

I am having an easy time just now. Why think of it, this week I have been getting up just when I am ready (which hasn’t been early) and doing about what I want to do. Yesterday afternoon I had company (Miss Meister) and at half-past five I went to Millerville. I did not get home until half-past nine. This morning I mended some of Mother’s things and embroidered a little. This afternoon Mother and I went shopping. I had to buy thread.

We came home very early and we spent the afternoon talking. Mother is preparing supper now. Tonight, Mary + Bessie Adams, two very dear friends are coming for the evening. I received another Christmas gift (a beautiful melon cushion). I am going to have it for my Sweetheart to use when he is resting to rest his head on. It is so pretty and so soft. I have so many things now for our home that I must pack them in another trunk.

I wish you were right here now. There are so many things I want to say to my Sweetheart. Dearie thank you so much for your “certificate check” and the many good wishes. I hope the coming year and all the year will be full of happiness, healthy and prosperity for you. I shall put it carefully away with the other things my Sweetheart gave me all of which are very dear and precious to me.

I wish you would not have such a hard run. Are they going to keep you on that Broken Bow run long? I hope not if you must work so hard.

Take care of yourself and get just as much rest as possible. With more and more love and best wishes for my John.

Forever your

Daisy

P.S. Write when you can but not when you ought to be resting. I love my John too much to have him do anything when he needs rest. Daisy.

Editor Note: Anyone want to take a stab at what the Broken Bow run might be referring to? The city is in Oklahoma and I am guessing there was a train route back then. Adding it to the road trip I intend to take as part of this adventure in love and letters. Happy reading!

2 thoughts on “December 30, 1908

Leave a comment