October 4, 1908

Blogger Note: As promised, here is letter #2!

My dearest John,

I have not written for two days and how long it does seem. It seems longer still since I heard from my sweetheart not since Thursday.

I wonder what you are doing now. I wish you were here. I do want to see you and talk to you.

I came home from Sunday school about half-past three and spent all the rest of the afternoon answering letters. I wrote four this is the fifth. I could take all the time I wanted to write to my Dearie. I just finished eating my supper I had to eat alone. The boys and papa are out and Mother did not want any. I do not enjoy eating a meal alone.

Since I wrote to you last I went to bed every evening but one at seven o-clock. I am feeling better today than I have for over a week.

We are having glorious weather; on Friday after school and yesterday afternoon Mother took me driving. Yesterday morning from nine until eleven thirty we had a grade meeting. It was very interesting and helpful. In a talk on the value of recess and the joy and happiness of children, Dr. Buehrle said “Love and joy are the wings to higher things.” How true it is. When one’s heart is full of love how much more beautiful our thoughts are and how different. “All the world is full of beauty when the heart is full of love.”  I thank God constantly for the heart full of love he has given me for you. It makes so many things (which were burdens) really easy to bear.

On Friday evening, a little after seven just as I was going upstairs five of the girls cam to spend the evening. Four of mother’s friends happened to come the same evening, so mother’s party joined our party and we did have a merry time. I finished one of the plate doilies to that set I told you I was making.

One of the girls had all the girls over to supper tonight. I did not go because I knew it would be late before we get back and I do not want to loose any sleep because I cannot afford to just now.

I had a real funny experience over the telephone just before supper. There was a call and I answered. A man at the other end wanted a Mr. Groff. I was provoked because I went down from the third floor. I just got upstairs when there was another call and it was the same man, who wanted Groffs. I answered that telephone six times and said the same thing each time; finally I had to laugh, it was ridiculous. I asked him if he was sure he had the right number and he said he had no book but that the exchange gave him that number. I asked him just who he wanted and he told me so I found the right number for him and I do hope he talked to the person he wanted.

This was rally day at Sunday School and we had a very large attendance. I do wish it would always be so large. Nearly every seat in our department was filled. A little better than last Sunday which was very good too.

On Friday, Mother went down town and bought me the most beautiful piece of brown silk I ever saw, for a dress. The color is so rich and soft. I did not want it because I do not need it and then I do not want to sew on the machine this winter. She said she would have it made, but I told her I would rather have a dozen fruit knives and make the dress myself but she said I could have my dress made and the fruit knives too. So I suppose I will get the dozen silver knives for a Christmas gift. But I do not need the dress and if Mother will let me I shall put it away and have it made or make it myself later. I have a silk dress which I have not worn more than a dozen times.

But Mother is so good to me. But I get real provoked at times. She gives me more work to do than any person can do and then when she sees that I am sick she is sorry. But I have learned a lesson this week. I am not going to do one thing more than I feel I can whether it gets done or not especially when I am standing five or six hours in the school room. No girl or boy has a kinder or better Mother than I have only she does not realize how much she asks of me.  But by resting every minute I could since when I wrote to you last Thursday evening I feel much better. The doctor said I was just as well as any person could be physically but I was doing too much. So you see I must be a little more lazy.

I dreamed about my Sweetheart. It makes me so happy to love you and think of you. I often wonder whether you know how much I do love you.

Sweetheart I must stop now it is getting late (for me).

Write soon.

With best wishes and may God bless us and take care of us.

With a heart full of love.

Forever Yours,

Daisy

Good-night.

Blogger Note:  I can sense Daisy’s exhaustion with working full time with energetic children and then helping take care of the home.  This is also the first time I’ve seen her frustration with her mother. Perhaps she is becoming more and more comfortable with John that she can express not only the positive parts of her life but also the not-so-positive parts.  Just a thought….

2 thoughts on “October 4, 1908

  1. I think it funny that we have the same problem with telephones today. Nothing has changed much -there are still folks who keep ringing you back, no matter how many times that you tell them they have the wrong number.
    I do think I know why Daisy’s mother wishes she wouldn’t move far away-the mother will be left with just her husband and sons. Daisy won’t be there as a companion and friend, and that has to be hard. She won’t have anyone to go on a drive with, or for visiting friends and neighbors. Also, running a household was a huge job. When Daisy goes, she will not have her help.

    Like

  2. Does anyone else think Daisy has some illness? In this and the letter before it it sounds like she is overly tired…..maybe anemic. She is to young to be that tired and her mother would probably done most of the housework by the time Daisy got home from school. In past letters it seems she isn’t as healthy as one would hope her to be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

