September 1, 1908

My dearest John,

I am sitting in the kitchen trying to get this letter written while I am getting supper ready.  The busy days have begun. At eight o’clock this morning we had our grade meeting. It lasted until ten. I had some errands to do which kept me busy until half past eleven. This afternoon I had some more things to attend to down town which took my time until after three.  Then I sewed until five when I had to come out to start supper.

We have a lot of outside work to do for our Superintendent. This week we must learn to bound all the wards in the city. Name all the officers living in each, bound Lancaster C. and our state. I am to begin teaching tomorrow morning and I do not know where. The board is thinking of sending me out to Pearl Street to open a new primary school.  If they do it will mean lots of extra work. I suppose they will decide tonight what is to be done. I hope they do for I do not want to open one school tomorrow and another the next day.

I was disappointed this morning. I would liked to have had a letter. But you spoiled me last week by being so good and writing so many.

I wonder if you had any more hard days as you had last week. I hope you did not have to make two trips in one day after the time you mentioned.

I need someone to defend me, my brother Joe just threatened to punch me and is calling me lots of names, all for cooking his supper. If I were not so busy writing he would be getting himself into trouble. That’s how my brothers tease me. Now he wants to make up by telling me how good the supper is.

Yesterday about six o’clock Mother and I went driving. We were so busy talking we did not realize how far we were going. It grew dark and we did not know where we were. After inquiring we found we were about ten miles from home and about seven miles from any pike. So we had that drive in the dark and over those hilly by roads. We had a great time.

Everything seems to go wrong here today. But I have my sweetheart to think about and that keeps me happy.

Mr. Brenner bought a big watermelon and he insists upon Joe and me coming over to help eat it tonight. Well, sweetheart I must stop now. If I can possibly find time tomorrow I will write.

Did I tell you I received a postal from Bertha. She is so happy and is having such a nice time. I am so glad for she needed just such a change. The people with whom she is with love her and are very good to her. Have you heard from her? It would be so sweet to talk to you tonight. But I must be good.

With lots of love.

Forever your loving,

Daisy

3 thoughts on “September 1, 1908

Leave a Reply

