October 19, 1907

Blogger Note:  What wacky weather we are having this June!  I’ve never seen so much rain/storm/flooding in Illinois.  So I was a little shocked to wake up this morning to the sun shining with just a slight breeze.  Went for a run and the smell of cut grass hung in the air as everyone in the neighborhood is taking the rare opportunity to work out in their yards. So what better day to post a letter!  Hope the weather where you are is just as grand!

Dear Mr. Henderson,

It is just as I have expected. It is nearly three weeks since I wrote to you. I addressed it to Aberdeen expecting you to be there because I wrote it about two days after I received yours. I had my address on it. I do not see why it did not come back.

Friday a week ago, I wrote a postal asking her whether you received the letter but did not send it until this Friday expecting to hear from you each day.

We are having our second Installment of Institute today. The morning session was very interesting. I hope this afternoon will be the same. But oh my, how little I know and how incapable I am. We ought to teach the children to learn to appreciate the higher and fine arts and how to enjoy their leisure and working hours and so on.

I am spending a little time each day studying plant life, but I do not find very much time for study or reading. We are having  beautiful weather and I want to be out more. I am like a spoiled child, wanting what I can’t have.

Last Saturday I did work. I sliced four pairs of quinces, made twenty four glasses of guince honey and two hundred bottles of grape juice. I was so tired and stiff Sunday morning I could not go to church. I did go to Sunday school, however.

Tuesday I took a long walk in the country after school. Wednesday mother took me driving. I have been sewing a little but not much. With a little studying and recreation my spare time is all taken.

How long do you expect to stay at Brandon? I hope it will not be permanent. I am glad you are enjoying living there, but I too prefer Penn.

This summer we began saving our pennies for beautifying our church and started to collect as many feet as possible. A foot hold just 16 cents. In September we brought in the amount we succeeded in getting. About thirty of us succeeded in getting just two hundred dollars. I think that is fine. We have about $425 now. We need $800 to have our church refinished inside. We hope to get the remaining $375 by next spring.

In my last letter I asked you to drop the “Miss” before my name and call me Daisy. As you did not receive that one I report my request. Have you heard how Nora is? I am so sorry and I sincerely hope she will get just as strong as she was before she got sick.

I wish you could see my schoolroom. It is a little garden. I have thirty nine plants. The children are so interested in the plants; they watch them putting forth new leaves and buds and every day there is a scramble to carry the water to water them.

Will you be able to go home to spend Christmas? I am looking forward to that time of the year already. I love the months of October, November & December best of all the year. We expect my big brother Will home for Christmas.

I hope this letter will reach its destination. Hoping to hear from you soon and with best wishes I am.

Sincerely,

Daisy

P.S. This is a poor letter but I know you will excuse writing and mistakes, won’t you?  Daisy

Blogger Note:  First, when I said it was a beautiful day today, I had no idea that Daisy would remark on the gorgeous weather she had as well – strangely cool coincidence!  Second, I am fruit-naming deficient and had no idea what a “quince” fruit was.  For those who may also need a little explanation… “The quince is the sole member of the genus Cydonia in the family Rosaceae. It is a small deciduous tree that bears a pome fruit, similar in appearance to a pear, and bright golden-yellow when mature.”  So there you have it.  I also had to reread the fact that she made two hundred bottles of grape juice.  I’m looking around my apartment and shaking my head as there would be NO room to store those in most places.

Blogger Note II:  I’m thinking he must have received the letter she is referring in her letter as a missing letters as the content closely matches my last post?  

3 thoughts on “October 19, 1907

  1. Love the love letters.  Just think, today June 27, 2015 it’s 117* just driving down the street!  Thanks so much for the posts.Susan

    From: 109loveletters To: summers2020@yahoo.com Sent: Saturday, June 27, 2015 12:24 PM Subject: [New post] October 19, 1907 #yiv9806619674 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv9806619674 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv9806619674 a.yiv9806619674primaryactionlink:link, #yiv9806619674 a.yiv9806619674primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv9806619674 a.yiv9806619674primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv9806619674 a.yiv9806619674primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv9806619674 WordPress.com | SKnudson posted: “Blogger Note:  What wacky weather we are having this June!  I’ve never seen so much rain/storm/flooding in Illinois.  So I was a little shocked to wake up this morning to the sun shining with just a slight breeze.  Went for a run and the smell of cut gras” | |

    Like

  2. I look forward to each letter not only to see how their relationship is developing but to get a wonderful glimpse into what Daisy’s daily life consists of. Thank you for posting the letters! Andrea

    Like

  3. As you pst your bloggers notes and P.S.s I start to get fond of you as of Daisy, and you are just as lovely as her. Challenge, someday you might post your emails to your boyfriend. 🙂

    Ps my English’s bad, sorry.

    Like

Leave a Reply

