September 30, 1907

Blogger Note:  Hello readers!  Wow, it has been a whirlwind of a couple weeks!  Some great things coming on the horizon, but I don’t want to spoil anything.  As soon as I hear more, I’ll let you all know. On another note, I was contacted by this wonderful woman Rhonda who has more of Daisy’s letters!  We chatted and I was filled in on more of Daisy’s story.  We are in the process of trying to get the letters to me to incorporate into the blog.  A great surprise!!  Anyways, I definitely owe a new letter, so here you go!

Dear Mr. Henderson,

Yes, I think you deserve to be punished and I shall do so by writing so soon to you. I can think of no worse punishment for you.

You certainly must have been busy. I hope you will find some time for rest and recreation this year. I still get to bed sometime between eight and nine every night but Wednesday when I go to church. I feel so well since I get lots of rest and can work harder during the day.

I am very sorry to hear of Nora’s illness. How long has she been ill? I do hope she will continue to get better until she is well.

I cannot help but feel that Mr. Porter is no better than that girl or he would never have married her knowing her as he surely must and against his parents’ wishes. How can he care enough for her to marry her (if her character is doubtful?) if he himself is good and pure? Has he been writing to Winnifred lately? I feel sorry for his parents.

On Saturday I made catchup (the first!) and mother said it is very good. I did every bit of it myself.

I just finished reading “Fredrick the Great” and “King Henry the VIII.” King Frederick surely must have been a great and good man. But proud and his heart must have been of iron. He seems to have given up everything that was not fitting for a king to do or say or in other words, everything that was “human.” I cannot imagine a more despicable or loathsome creature than Henry the VIII.

Some good luck came my way this week. The city superintendent called the other evening and asked me to take a school only two squares from home. I have eleven now. Of course I said I would. I shall not change until the end of this week. The building into which I am going is much larger, nicer and more convenient. The difficult thing; however, is the organizing and commencing another school. I just succeeded in getting my school in good working order. But there seems to be always something else. Of course there will be more work. I shall have hall duties which is no light task in a large building. I do hate to leave my children.

I find my work easier this year because I know better what is expected. Our musical director told me Friday that my pupils were ahead of all the other schools in this grade in the city. That is due to the children. The most difficult thing I must teach is drawing. My little people cannot draw. I feel like shaking something into them maybe I could get something  out of them by the same process. But I do love them in spite of the trouble they give me.

We have been having very cold weather last week. We had fire in school and at home. We have scarcely had any summer this year.

I feel like calling you a “Goose” You say you could tell me lots about St. Paul and then do not do it when you know I am so anxious to know all about it. You just like to arouse my curiosity, don’t you?

I would rather you leave the Miss from my name and call me Daisy.

Will finish tomorrow, it is nine o’clock and you know I told you the rule I make myself abide by?  Good night.

Tuesday noon —

It just blows and blows. I thought I should never get home today. I have been so busy and so cross all morning. I am glad you have gotten a better position. You are making a good salary. I know a Professor of Latin and others, too, who have spent years at college and a good many years teaching who do not earn more than 100.00 a month.

I must get my dinner and go back to school.

With best wishes,

Sincerely,

Daisy Holzwarth

P.S. If you make me wait so long for a letter again and arouse my curiosity as you did about St. Paul, I shall punish you worse.

Daisy

Blogger Note:  She is demanding he drop the “Miss” from her name? That playfulness and sassiness becomes more and more prominent each letter. And I don’t think she would enjoy the many movies and television shows that portray Henry VIII these days?  (think Tudors on Showtime?).  Have not heard a more eloquent but scathing insult like hers in a long time.  Thanks for reading!

P.S. on Blogger note: Yes, she did spell ketchup as “catchup” in case anyone noticed.  I know some of you are quick to let me know of any grammar or spelling mistakes (and I thank you!).

2 thoughts on “September 30, 1907

    • When I was growing up, it was spelled like “catsup”.

      If a TV series were to be made of the time in their lives captured in these letters, I would watch it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

