September 1, 1907

Blogger Note:  This is my favorite letter of Daisy’s to date!  We get to see her playful, witty and funny side.  A lot has happened between my last letter and now, and I hope to update you all soon!  

Dear Mr. Henderson,

This has been an ideal Sabbath. It is just about 4:30 P.M. now. I was driving all afternoon. The porch is so inviting that I feel tempted to stay home from church. But I must be a good girl and go. I have been naughty long enough. I can scarcely realize that the summer is past and Autumn is here. It certainly has been a happy summer for me. About two weeks ago a party of five decided to go to Atlantic City for a week. So last Saturday we went and stayed until last night. Of course we had a chaperon, she said her most strenuous time was from 11 P.M. until 2 or 2:30 A.M. I need not say that we had a jolly time (I am ashamed to say) but little noisy time. You know me when there is anything to laugh at. Some of our friends were at the same hotel and in all there were about 13 of us. But good times come and go. Tomorrow morning I start with the hard busy months of work before me.

Have you taken no rest at all this summer? But I suppose not. I wish you could spend several weeks lounging on our porch and in our yard “of course in the house too if you were good.”  I know you would feel better and look at things more brightly. You do not know how glad I am that you are sensible enough not to worry. You know I never do. We agree on two very important questions. The one just mentioned and the temperance question – but I am afraid you get depressed very often. Do you? When I feel one of those “spells” coming I just try to forget everything and get a good book or if I am too busy I try to think of some of the nicest things I have read. Oh, it helps  me so much.

You said you were going to leave about Sept. 15. Do you mean that you are going to St. Paul then? I hope you had a delightful time while home. Yes, mothers are our best friends.  Not only boys but girls, too, go to their “Mas.” I must get supper now. If you were here, I should put an apron on you and put you to work. I guess you are glad you are far enough away to escape all that.

Tuesday afternoon —- I have heard and read that “time and tide wait for no man but everything for women.” I have found that the latter half is wrong. Time never waits for me.

I intended finishing this after church Sunday but did not get home until eleven, so of course did not. Yesterday school began and I am afraid I am not going to like to teach this year at least. I am not ready to begin. We have only one session this month so I spent this afternoon ironing. I believe I like that better. The woman we have now does not iron waists and fine things nicely so I do them. Not that I do them so much better but if I iron carelessly, I have only myself to scold.

I remember very well the time I attended to your nails and if you have not done so since I do not wonder Bertha said the time had come when they did. I guess I shall have to come once a month at least and take care of them for you. I am sure I do not know what you and yours must have thought of me for doing that when I knew you for so short a time. But I am so impulsive and do just as I want to when I possibly can. I hope you will forgive me.

I appreciate what you said about the “enjoyable company.” I am afraid we would have too gay a time up in Maine, especially if you again should wear my blue bonnet and your big straw hat. Do you remember that? I wonder if we should have to go for water and find a lot of good plums.

Now if you don’t soon stop telling me you are loosing in weight. I shall scold as I never have. Of course I expect the truth, but you must see to it that you gain. You must not kill yourself working and try to study too. I think that is too much.

Do you remember Robert Byerly? He sailed last Saturday for Syria where he will teach for three years. Tell Mary & Nora; when you write, he was one of our classmates.

I think I have been real good in answering your letter.  You know I did not get it until Saturday and I started to answer it the next day.  I don’t think you could do better.

With best wishes I am

Very Sincerely,

Daisy Holzwarth

and in our yard

2 thoughts on “September 1, 1907

  1. I’m sure you’re having as much fun posting these letters as we are having reading them! I look forward to every new letter and love being drawn back to those simpler times. I have a box of love letters from my grandparents to each other. They were married 10/6/35. My husband and I got married on 10/6/02 because we figured if it lasted 53 years for them, (when my gram passed) it was a good starting omen for us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

