December 3, 1906

Dear Mr. Henderson,

I took your scolding with as much grace as possible and have profited by it. I am just as well and strong as I ever was. The cold I had taken was not due to carelessness on my part but because we could not have fire in the house. But our furnace is in good working order and my cough and cold have left me. I never want a cough like that one again. I am fortunate enough to have two evenings to spend as I please this week. I am going to sew tomorrow evening making Christmas gifts. That is what I have been doing tonight until I ran out of thread.

On Thursday evening I am going to hear Mr. Rees, the great Evangelist. He has been here for two weeks. I heard him four times and certainly was benefited. He is turning Lancaster upside down. I would never have believed that any man could stir up the people here and set them thinking as this man has done and is doing. He is converting hundreds. He has most of the ministers here interested.

They have organized praying groups, which certainly will be productive of much good. I believe and have much faith in earnest prayer. I wish you could hear him. If he comes West and you get an opportunity to hear him I wish you would.

On Friday evening I ought to go to hear Dr. Green but would rather go to see the “Old Homestead.” I do not believe in the Theater in fact I never go and disapprove. But I want to see this play and have been asked to go so I shall go this once at least. I want to see one or two Shakespearean plays but good actors and that is the end of my interest in the stage. There has been so much said against the theater that I feel criminal some times for wanting to see some things. But then acting is the “highest art” and it is part of one’s education to know something about it.

I am glad you enjoy your work and more glad to know you are well. The fact that you are gaining so much in weight proves that it agrees with you and is healthful. I do not read very much except the papers and magazines. I have started “Little Dorritt” by Dickens about two months ago. I am enjoying it very much. I think you would enjoy it if you have not read it.

I enjoy my work more every day. The children grow dearer and when Saturday comes I really miss them. Have the girls and your mother moved into their new home? I have not heard from Mary for a long time. She cannot say that I owe her a letter because I answered her last one by return mail. I suppose I shall have to ask you to plead my case again. I know she is very busy, however.

Thank you for the “scolding.” I cannot scold you because you seem to be “behaving” yourself from accounts.

With best wishes.

Sincerely,

Daisy Holzwarth

Blogger Note: Was anyone else surprised that Daisy doesn’t like the theater arts?  It broke my heart a little, but I think she would be happy to know that at least Shakespeare is still beloved today and is taught in schools. I wonder what she would think of Hollywood now and all the society obsession with actors/actresses?  And more than ever, I wish I had John’s letters!   But alas, we must continue on with what we have been given.  I do apologize for the delay – had my first vacation of the year and was out of state for a few days.  Hope everyone is still enjoying the read!  Anyone ever read the book she noted?  “Little Dorrit”?

4 thoughts on “December 3, 1906

  1. Theater people were generally thought of as “lower class”, so even if she liked theater she may not have admitted to it, being the proper lady as she portrays herself. And as for “Little Dorritt”- I have found it not to be Dickens’ best- but to each their own. He is already starting to care for her if he is scolding her about her cold. Lovely to read-thank you for posting these letters.

    Like

  2. Do you suppose that it isn’t so much she does not like the theatre arts but rather that her parental and/or religious upbringing has molded her to beleive that liking theatre is neither proper or godly? If so she has a bit of rebel within to even think of going.

    Like

  3. I appreciate reading these letters, thank you again for taking the time to post them. I haven’t *read* Little Dorrit, but over the years the BBC has done 2 excellent versions of it, and it’s a great thing to watch on a cold and rainy Saturday afternoon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

