September 17, 1906

Dear Mr. Henderson,

I just came home from school and found your letter. I have been wondering why you did not write but I know you must have been very busy.

I am more sorry than words can express that you cannot go to school, for your sake. I know what it means not to graduate with your class. But try to be cheerful and do what you can along that line. I can sympathize with you because I have always wanted to go to college but I know I shall never get there so I have resigned myself to the inevitable and am trying to be content.

Remember that our greatest and best men have never gone to school for any length of time.

Do you have a good position? It will be a great struggle for you to work your way thru the University. Possibly you could take a night course of some kind and in that way prepare yourself for some line of work. I do not mean to discourage you I hope you understand that. I wish I could suggest something to help you. Possibly I could if I could talk to you. I am glad my letters help you but I do not write anything of any account.

My brother Will is only 19 and he is getting a salary of twelve hundred a year with office work that is stenography. He would not go to school any longer and  drifted into that.

Yes school has opened and I have a school of forty-six little children. Most of them are very dear and I love them. They had a very nice fruit and flower surprise for me today. I like my work real well. I thank you for your good wishes but I am afraid I shall not be very successful. I am afraid I am a little discouraged. I must teach Pollard’s system of reading and I do not know whether I like it or not. I am seriously thinking of giving up teaching further school and take pupils to study German and do fancy sewing. I could make a great deal more teaching German.

On Thursday evening we are going to have a fruit festival at our church. Tomorrow evening, Tuesday, we go to church and decorate and fix what we can. Wednesday after school we are going for golden rod and after Luther League in the evening we shall finish decorating. We shall have a jolly good time getting ready. I am in charge of the pretzel table and have been told to furnish about five hundred no matter how I get them.

We go to the hills along the Conestoga for golden rode and I shall think of last summer.

I had some photographs taken last August. Ever time I called for them I was told I would get them in a few days. Today I heard Mr. Weber failed. I do not know whether I shall get them now or whether I shall have them taken again. I hope you have not begun to think that I have forgotten my promise.

I shall have to write to Nora and ask her about her new vacation. I heard from Mary last week and I answered her letter on Saturday.

Do not get discouraged and try to be content and make the best of things. Never again feel or say that you are not of much importance. You have your place in this world and no person but you can fill that place.

If I can help you in any way I shall be very glad to do so.

With best wishes and earnest prayers for your welfare and success, I am.

Sincerely,

Daisy Holzwarth

Blogger Note: I did a little searching and Pollard’s Systematic Method of Reading was published in 1898 and was written by Rebecca Pollard. I love that her words of encouragement and wisdom are just as relevant today as they were then. Wishing everyone a great weekend and a hope that you do feel like you have a place in this world. 

One thought on “September 17, 1906

  1. I look forward to the postings to hear how Daisy and Mr. Henderson are faring. It is indeed interesting that the problems one hundred years ago are still problems that we face now in spite of progress.

    Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

