November 4, 1905

Dear Mr. Henderson,

How time flies!  I suppose you heard I was in the city.  Mary calls me a “lucky chick” and says it keeps her “busy keeping track of me.”  I have a school of five pupils.  I teach them the Primary branches.  It is intensely interesting because I can do individual work.

School begins at nine o’clock.  At 10:30 until 11:00 o’clock I take my little people with the higher school and teach them calisthenics. At 12:30 I dismiss school for the day. Then I am through for the day except that I teach drawing twice a week from one o’clock until one thirty.  Is that not lovely? I have every afternoon to do as I like.  I am studying music and enjoying it immensely. I am going to work as it very hard this winter.

I certainly am very glad to hear of your good fortune.  How I wish I could see some of your work.  I know that you deserve all the good fortune that comes to you, and I wish you all the success possible and you always have my best wishes.  I suppose you are very glad to get to study.  Of course it too is very hard work but I know you enjoy it.  How I wish I could go to school again.  But I presume my school days are over.

You must tell me all about your work.  I have been having quite a time the last two weeks.  I have taken quite a severe cold but am taking medicine faithfully and hope to get over it soon.  I go over eighty squares in the car every day.  No one hundred and sixty because I am staying with my Aunt and she lives 32 squares over North Sixth Street and the school in which I am teaching is 40 squares west but I must go out of my way some distance to get to the school.  I think I take my colds riding in the car.

Tell Nora and the girls to please write.  I have excellent opportunities to hear good lecture and I am going to take Professor Briggs’ course on Tennyson. Was Mr. Briggs the man Mr. Haggerty did not like?  What was his name?

I am writing under difficulties.  My Aunt, two cousins and a friend are in the same room talking and having a good time.  And every once in a while I can’t resist and must talk too.

Take care of yourself. But of course, you are not so foolish but more sensible.  You said you did not believe I could look cross.  Well, I can if must be. But you can imagine what good times my pupils and I have when I run races with them and they come to me and ask me to scream for them.  They want to know whether they can scream louder than I.  I have not tried that yet; however, do you advise me to try it?  I must close.

With best wishes.

Sincerely,

Daisy

Footnote:  I looked up “Tennyson” who Daisy mentioned was the topic of a course she would be taking.  I came across Alfred Tennyson, a popular British poet during the reign of Queen Victoria in the late 1800’s.  

Footnote 2:  I know I said “love letters” and the first couple of letters do not have much romanticism in them.  The first letter I read before buying the others ended up in the middle chronologically in their story as a whole.  I do not read the letters ahead of time, so I am transcribing them as I type.  So each letter is a surprise for all of us!

November 4, 2015_0001   November 4, 2015_0002  November 4, 2015_0003

4 thoughts on “November 4, 1905

  1. The one thing that I liked about this letter was how little her hours of working were. Of course, we have to consider that in her time, she might have spent it doing tasks that take less time now.

    Like

  2. Just wanted to note a few typing errors: in the beginning of the second paragraph, “I take may little people,” should be “my little people.” And the end of that same paragraph, “I am going to work as is very hard this winter,” should be “at it very hard this winter.” Wonderful blog 🙂

    Like

  3. Love reading these. What do you think the “squares” (sound like a distance measurement) are? It couldn’t be a sidewalk square, could it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

